Cake Pop Attempts.

Being back home for Christmas meant I could get back to baking. I wanted to try something different, I saw a cake pop mould and thought it would be a great idea to try it out!

Here is the basic recipe for the cake pop mixture:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C/ Gas Mark 4
  2. Cream 120g of unsalted butter and 150g of caster sugar until it turns pale and fluffy
  3. Add a tsp of vanilla extract
  4. Add two eggs and mix well
  5. Add half of the 180g self-raising flour and half of the 4 tbsp of milk, then mix well
  6. Repeat, adding the rest of the flour and milk
  7. Pour the mixture equally among the cake pop moulds and bake for 35-45 minutes

 

After the cake pop mixture is baked and cooled, you can now decorate and have fun with it! I had to remind myself that as it was a first attempt, that they weren’t going to be perfect (they certainly were far from perfect).

I melted some milk chocolate in a bowl (you can also use icing sugar) and once the cake pops were securely on a lollipop stick, I dipped them in the melted chocolate.

I had set out a variety of decorations and then after dipping the cake pop in the chocolate, I then dipped it into sprinkles. As a warning, I’ll say be careful of the weight of the decorations as they can cause the cake pop to slide down the stick (see below)!

IMG_1636

Cake pops are very messy to make but a lot of fun! I highly recommend at least attempting it.

Tip: I found the sprinkles worked best as the cake pop decorations.

Let me know if you have a go and if it goes better than my attempt!

2015-12-30 14-40-18 Instagram Post – xo

One Comment Add yours

  1. oceanoffear says:

    They look so tasty!

    Like

Leave a Reply

